As we prepare to host the 8th Annual eThekwini Living Legends Awards, members of the public have an opportunity to be part of this symbolic process by nominating the person whom they feel is worthy to be called an ‘eThekwini Living Legend’. This nomination should be based on the positive and extraordinary work and achievements that the nominee has made in society and their field of expertise.

Nomination forms can be collected from and returned to all Municipal libraries and museums. They can also be downloaded from The form must be accompanied by a detailed motivation letter on why the nominee should be one of the 2015 Living Legend Awardees. The closing date for nominations is Tuesday, 31 March 2015.

Past and present residents of eThekwini Municipality can be nominated under the following categories; Arts and Culture, Sports, Hospitality and Tourism, Human Rights, Music and Entertainment, Media, Academic, Environment, Religion, Business and Science and Technology. A person can only be nominated in one category per submission and no self-nominations will be accepted. Council employees may not be nominated.

The Living Legends Awards have grown in leaps and bounds over the past few years and have seen men and women from all walks of life being recognised and honoured for the sterling work they have continuously done in their respective communities and fields of expertise.
Former awardees include; former KwaZulu-Natal Judge President Vuka Tshabalala; Speaker of the National Assembly Baleka Mbete; United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights Navanethem Pillay; peace activist Ela Gandhi, actress Leleti Khumalo; academic Prof Jerry Coovadia; environmentalist Cecil Ward; Minister in the Presidency Jeff Radebe; Olympic gold medalist Penny Heyns; maskandi artist Phuzekhemisi Mnyandu and many more.

Meanwhile, the Municipality has acknowledged the contributions made by one of our late awardees, Felix Mshololo, who passed away recently. The former Menzi High School principal was honoured as a Living Legend in 2014 for his contribution in education and community upliftment.


Issued by eThekwini Municipality’s Communications Head, Tozi Mthethwa.

For more information contact Thabo Mofokeng on 031 311 4820 or 082 731 7456 or email: or Gugu Mbonambi on 031 311 4855 or email: