20 September 2016
New EThekwini Municipality Committee Chairs Appointed
Following the official appointment of committee chairs in today’s first Executive Committee sitting, eThekwini Municipality’s new leadership has committed itself to hit the ground running and deliver service delivery to residents.
The meeting, held at the City Hall on 20 September, saw the appointment of Councillor Zama Sokhabase as chair of Community Services Committee. Governance and Human Resources Committee will be chaired by Councillor Barbara Fontein while Councillor Sipho Kaunda was tasked with leading the Economic Development and Planning Committee.
Deputy Mayor Fawzia Peer will oversee the Security and Emergency Services Committee while Councillor Mondli Mthembu will chair the Human Settlements and Infrastructure Committee.
The committee meetings are set to start between 11-13 October and their core task is to deliberate on various issues concerning service delivery and take decisions that will benefit residents.
Mayor Zandile Gumede congratulated the elected chairs and urged all committee members and officials to support the designated chairs. “We need to all work together in order to deliver high quality services and drive job creation,” she said.
In her address, Gumede stressed that continuous provision of basic services, decent housing and stormwater infrastructure needs to be prioritised.
“I want to ensure that not only a few enjoy the fruits of democracy, but all people must enjoy an improved quality of life,” she added.
Gumede clarified that while the executive committee support structure was announcement today, councillors have been working tirelessly around the clock, fast-tracking service delivery since the Councillors were inaugurated on 23 August.
“As a result, I will tomorrow be presenting the 30 day report back card where I will inform ratepayers, businesses and all stakeholders what this leadership has been doing.
I will also speak about the leadership’s future plans to deliver on its mandate. I have also established a crack team to focus on critical interventions to ensure we deliver on our plan,” she said.
Pledging City officials support to the new leadership, City Manager Sibusiso Sithole said they have noted issues raised by the Mayor and are prepared to double their efforts in fast-tracking service delivery.
Community Services Committee deals with the overall wellbeing of all residents in the City. This committee will also champion issues pertaining to community development and the general empowerment of our communities.
Security and Emergency Services Committee prioritises the safety of eThekwini residents and disaster management issues by providing urgent interim support while deliberating on lasting solutions. The Municipality strives to ensure that all those who live, work, play and invest in eThekwini feel safe in private and public spaces.
Human Settlements and Infrastructure Committee ensures the provision of decent and dignified houses to residents as well as basic services which include electricity, water and ablution facilities. The Municipality prioritises the provision of basic services, such as housing, to ensure all people enjoy an improved quality of life.
Economic Development and Planning Committee has a huge task of attracting investors to the City, forging partnership and providing support to local entrepreneurs in order to drive economic growth, alleviate poverty and reduce the City’s unemployment rate. The committee is also responsible for driving policies that are aimed at growing small businesses, as they have the potential to expand and employ thousands of our people.
Governance and Human Resources Committee promotes the exercise of good governance and ensuring that employees, including councillors comply with government legislation. The newly elected leadership is committed to driving a corruption free City and will continue to keep lines of communication open and sustained with the electorate.
Issued by eThekwini Municipality’s Communications Head, Tozi Mthethwa.
For more information members of the media can contact Gugu Mbonambi on 0313114855 or email: or
Princess Nkabane on 031 311 4818 or email:
Please read this confidentiality disclaimer: