For immediate release
18 November 2016
It's All System Go For Ward Committee Elections
EThekwini Municipality will hold Ward Committee Elections in all its 110 wards on Sunday 20 November.
The formation of these committees is meant to strengthen community participation and directly give residents a platform to raise their concerns and express their views on ward developmental issues.
Council Speaker, William Mapena, is encouraging all eligible voters to bring their green bar-corded Identity Documents or smart cards in order to exercise their rights and vote.
“The election of these committees will help enhance service delivery. I urge all residents in eThekwini to participate in the elections this coming Sunday,” said Mapena.
The Municipal Structures Act of 1998 and the Municipal Systems Act of 2000 provides the legislative framework for the establishment of Ward Committees.
“Residents need to ensure that the people they elect are credible so that we can have effective committees. Those who will be elected on 20 November will be assessed,” said Mapena.
He said one of the roles that ward committees play is to identify and address the needs and challenges in the community working with the ward councillor.
“Ward committee members also help disseminate information about Municipal programmes and ensure a seamless interaction between the community and the City,” added Mapena.
Mapena has appealed to residents in all 110 wards across eThekwini to work with members of the Independent Electoral Commission and Municipal officials who will be responsible for the running of the elections in order to have a successful election process.
For more information contact your ward councillor.
08h00 - 09h30 -Registration and verification from voter’s roll
10h00 - 10h30 -Opening and explanation of the election process by Presiding Officer
10h30 - 11h30 -Nomination process
11h30 – 12h30 -Voting (where there are more than 10 nominations)
12h30 – 13h00 -Counting votes
13h30 – 14h00 -Announcement of results and closure
Issued by the eThekwini Municipality’s Head of Communications, Tozi Mthethwa.
For more information contact Gugu Mbonambi on 031 311 4855 or email: or Princess Nkabane on 031 311 4818 or email
Please read this confidentiality disclaimer: