News Flash

18 August 2015

For immediate release 

EThekwini Municipality Honours Its Living Legends

EThekwini Municipality is excited to announce the 2015 Living Legend Awardees who will be honoured at a prestigious ceremony on Saturday, 29 August 2015 at the Inkosi Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre.

The eThekwini Living Legends Awards ceremony honours past and present eThekwini citizens who have diligently dedicated their time and skills to uplift communities and contributed immensely to developing the society at large. It aims to salute the inspirational and continuous contribution that these individuals have brought to local communities and South Africa as a whole. 

The 8th Annual Living Legends Awards will provide a platform to reflect on the rich legacy that our leaders from various sectors have injected for the youth. 

Mayor, Cllr James Nxumalo said that the Awards present the Municipality with an opportunity to honour its legends while they are still alive and reflect on their distinct achievements and contribution to the community of eThekwini and the country at large.

“We are proud of their achievements and progressive contribution which serves as an inspiration to the younger generation to emulate these men and women who have selflessly served our communities. They are products of our local neighbourhoods and communities, emerging from different walks of life,” said Nxumalo. 

The awardees were selected through a public nomination process, where citizens submitted their names and a short background to eThekwini Municipality. A further selection process was undertaken by the Municipality’s researchers and 11 people were selected to be this year’s Living Legend Awardees. They were nominated in the fields of arts and culture, human rights, academia, science and technology.

Former Living Legend Awardee and renowned Judge President Sandile Ngcobo will give a key note address at the Awards Ceremony. 

The 2015 Awardees are as follows

Arts & Culture

  • Edmund Mhlongo

  • Bheki Mkhwane


  • Philda Nomusa Nzimande

Human Rights 

  • Judge KK Mthiyane

  • Bishop Michael Vorster

  • Thulkana Palan

Science and Technology

  • Don Macleod

  • Quarrisha Abdool Karim


  • HE Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma

  • Bhekisisa Maxwell Thabethe

  • Moses Tembe

Individual profiles and pictures of the Living Legend Awardees are available on request. 


Issued by eThekwini Municipality’s Communications Head, Ms Tozi Mthethwa.

For more information contact Vuyo Ndlovu on 031 311 4838,​