Durban pic.jpg

LUM is responsible for preparing and updating existing land use schemes in terms of the relevant planning legislation. This one of the key performance areas of the branch. These land use schemes also reflect and are a translation of the overall vision of the Municipality as expressed in the Integrated Development Plan (IDP) and the Spatial Development Framework (SDF).


These land use schemes guide and control the use of land through the Municipality under the area of a scheme. The land use schemes also allow for changes to land use or development controls through development applications in terms of the applicable planning legislation.


The Land Use Management Branch (LUM) has the responsibility of receiving, processing and making recommendations or decisions on these development applications within statutory time frames.  This is the core business of this branch.

The Branch has a legal obligation to control and regulate land uses and to prosecute illegal land uses through the appropriate planning legislation. The Branch also provides comment on a variety of applications received by other departments within the Municipality requiring a development planning input.​ 




    SPLUMA is the fundamental legislation that guides the planning at the eThekwini Municipality.  Since the enforcement of SPLUMA, the eThekwini Municipality has adopted there own Planning and Land Use Management Bylaw 2016





    eThekwini.gif

    Senior Manager:     
    Claire Norton (Email: Claire.Norton@durban.gov.za)
    Admin Assistant:         ​
    Nqobile Nzimande (Email: Nqobile.nzimande@durban.gov.za​)  Tel: 031 311 7790 


    REGIONAL OFFICES

    North Regional Office

    Address: 327 Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga
    Regional Co-Ordinator: Marius Taljaard
    Land Use Management Assistant: Nancy Moonsamy  Tel: 031 311 6063
    ​Admin Assistant: Rebecca Ramsamy  Tel: 031 311 6061  Email: Rebecca.Ramsamy@durban.gov.za


    Outer West Regional Office  

    Address: 22 Delamore Road, Hillcrest                                                                                                    Regional Co-Ordinator: Rayven Moodley                                                                                              Admin Assistant: Nolwazi Ngcemu  Tel: 031 311 2696  Email: Nolwazi.Ngcemu@durban.gov.za


    Inner West Regional Office

    Address: 60 Kings Road, Pinetown
    Regional Co-Ordinator: Vivegi Chetty
    Admin Assistant: Gonnie Govender  Tel: 031 311 6265
    Email: gonnie.govender@durban.gov.za
    Land Use Management Assistant: Nomfundo Ngubane  Tel: 031 322 1919
    Email: Nomfundo.ngubane@durban.gov.za

    South Regional Office 

    Address: 9-11 Gracedale Road, Mayors Mews, Kingsburgh
    Regional Co-Ordinator: Terence Pillay
    Land Use Management Assistants: Thandi Sishi   Tel: 031 311 5967  
    Email: Thandi.sishi@durban.gov.za
    Logie Moodley  Tel: 031 311 5984  Email: Logie.moodley@durban.gov.za
    SOUTH LUMS COUNTER: 031 311 5833

    Central Regional Office

    Address: 166 KE Masinga Road
    Regional Co-Ordinators: 
    Sandile Sokhela (North Central Area) 
    Tel: 031 311 7185
    AND
    Eric Parker (South Central Area) 
    Tel : 031 311 7183
     Admin Assistant: Thola Mthembu  Tel: 031 311 7097   Email: thola.mthembu@durban.gov.za

    Central Land Use Management Assistants: 
    Zethu Madikizela (North Central Area)   Tel: 031 311 7309  Email: Zethu.madikizela@durban.gov.za
    Bella Phillips (North Central Area)  Tel: 031 311 7607  Email: bella.phillips@durban.gov.za
    Jenesha (Sharlini) Seeban (South Central Area)  Tel 031 311 7847 Email Jenesha.Seeban@durban.gov.za
    Sanelisiwe Khuzwayo (South Central South)  Tel: 031 311 7569  
    Email: Sanelisiwe.khuzwayo@durban.gov.za​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

    SPLUMA Appeals Office

    1st floor, Room 117
    166 KE Masinga Road
    Contact Person:  Ms A Nkomonde  Tel: 031 322 8269  Email:  anele.nkomonde@durban.gov.za​


    ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​