Building Inspectorate
The Inspectorate Branch monitors building development to protect the interests of all Property Owners and Government Agencies against undesirable contraventions of existing legislation and acceptable norms in the interests of maintaining a safe and healthy environment, as required by the National Building Regulations, of the residents of Durban.
We are responsible for:
  • The inspection of the various stages of the building work (as specified on the requisition for inspection);
  • Attending to complaints regarding building work, dangerous buildings, stormwater problems as well as building material on road reserves;
  • Inspection of premises for crèche applications;
  • Advice on demolition as well as the relevant application forms (as required by the National Monuments Councils)
How can we help you?
When you reach any stage that requires inspection, you will need to complete the form that is sent to you with your approved plan. This form may be faxed or delivered personally.
If this form is in our possession before 9am the inspection can be carried out the following day.
 
Building Inspectorate Branch

Senior Manager: Mr Daniels Pentasaib
Admin Officer: Ivy Modisane
Tel: 031 311 7197
Email: ivy.modisane@durban.gov.za
 
REGIONAL OFFICES

North Regional Office 
UMHLANGA
Address: 327 Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga 
Regional Co-ordinator: Pope Ndlovu
BI Admin Assistant: Zethu Msomi 
Tel: 031 311 6093
Email: zethu.msomi@durban.gov.za

VERULAM
Address: 151 Wick Street, Verulam 
Regional Co-ordinator: Pope Ndlovu
BI Admin Assistant: Tshidi Liphoko
Tel: 031 322 1845
Email: Tshidi.Liphoko@durban.gov.za

TONGAAT
Address: 325 Gopalall Hurbans Road, Tongaat
Regional Co-ordinator: Pope Ndlovu
BI Admin Assistant: VACANT
Tel: 031 322 1649
Email: none

Outer West Regional Office
Address: 22 Delamore Road, Hillcrest
Regional Co-ordinator: Ashbey Sekakane
BI Assistant: Lindelwa Cebisa
Tel: 031 322 3114
Email: lindelwa.cebisa@durban.gov.za
 
Inner West Regional Office 
Address: 60 Kings Road, Pinetown
Regional Co-ordinator: Akhona Mankhala
BI Assistant: VACANT
Tel: 031 322 1942 
Email: 
 
BI Admin Assistant: VACANT
Tel: 031 322 1939
Email: 
 
Pinetown Area
Principal Building Inspector: Vusi Gudazi
BI Assistant: VACANT
Tel: 031 322 1942
Email: 

Queensburgh Area
Principal Building Inspector: Mandla Makhathini
Tel: 031 322 1938
BI Assistant: Carmel De Chapuiset Le Merle
Tel: 031 311 6263

Westville Area
Principal Building Inspector: Xoli Zulu
BI Assistant: VACANT
Tel: 031 322 1939
Email: 
 
South Regional Office 
Address: 11 Gracedale Road, Winklespruit, Kingsburgh
Regional Co-ordinator: Reggie Ntshingila
BI Assistant: Nomali Ntombela
Tel: 031 311 5841 
Email: Nomali.ntombela@durban.gov.za
BI Assistant: Philile Mlotshwa 
Tel: 031 311 5799 
Email: philile.mlotshwa@durban.gov.za

Central Regional Office 

Address: 166 KE Masinga Road

Regional Co-Ordinator: Nkululeko Nzuza

BI Admin Assistant: Miranda Khanyile 
Tel: 
031 311 7198​

Email: miranda.khanyile@durban.gov.za


ENCROACHMENT & HOARDING PERMITS

Permits and Encroachments Officer: Molly Mathias 

Tel: 031 311 7054
Email: molly.mathias@durban.gov.za​